What Are the 4 Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

The Four Agreements is a bestselling book written by Mexican author Don Miguel Ruiz. This book presents a simple yet profound philosophy of life that can help you transform your life and live a more fulfilling existence. Here are the four agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz:

1. Be impeccable with your word.

The first agreement emphasizes the importance of speaking truthfully and kindly. According to Ruiz, our words have the power to create both love and hate, happiness and sadness, and life and death. Therefore, we must use our words wisely and with intention. Being impeccable with your word means speaking with clarity and integrity, avoiding gossip and negativity, and using your words to create harmony and love.

2. Don`t take anything personally.

The second agreement reminds us that people`s actions and words are a reflection of their own beliefs and experiences, not ours. Too often, we take other people`s behavior as a personal attack on us, which can cause unnecessary suffering and turmoil. By understanding that their actions are not about us, we can free ourselves from the burden of taking things personally and let go of the need for approval or validation from others.

3. Don`t make assumptions.

Assumptions can lead to misunderstandings and conflicts in our relationships with others. The third agreement encourages us to ask questions and communicate clearly instead of assuming we know the motives or thoughts of others. This agreement also implies not to assume our thoughts are facts, and instead, to question them when needed.

4. Always do your best.

The fourth agreement urges us to give our best effort in everything we do, no matter the circumstances. Our best may look different from day to day, but as long as we strive to do our best on any given day, we can be proud of ourselves and avoid self-judgement. It is also important to understand that our best may vary depending on our physical or emotional state.

In conclusion, The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz is a guide to living a fulfilling life based on the principles of truthfulness, kindness, personal freedom, and self-mastery. By following these four agreements, we can transform our lives, enhance our relationships, and achieve our full potential.